Tuesday, 17 July 2018

5 Stages of Dementia

5 Stages of Dementia

Dementia, often referred to as senile, is a decline in intellectual function due to brain diseases characterized by the impairment of at least three of the five noble cortical functions, namely language, memory, visuospatial (recognizing space and place), executive, and emotional skills. Dementia makes the sufferers unable to conduct social activities and take care of themselves.

Basically, dementia is caused by a central nervous cell damage in the brain (partially or completely), resulting in an inability of the body to produce neurotransmitter, a chemical necessary for nerve cell delivery. The nerve cell damage can be triggered by various factors, but the main factor (primary dementia) is due to Alzheimer disease in which the cell regeneration ability is decreasing due to aging. It progresses slowly along with the development of the disease.

Primary dementia commonly occurs to people aged 65 and over. Yet, dementia can also occur at a young age due to blood-stroke disease and brain infection or brain injury causing brain nerve cells inactivation. It is commonly triggered by an unhealthy lifestyle, such as smoking, drinking alcohol, unhealthy diet, and the presence of other diseases such as diabetes and high blood pressure disease.

The severity of the diagnosed progressive dementia will be determined using these 5 stages:

  • Stage 1

The brain function is normal.

  • Stage 2

Decline in brain function, but the sufferer is capable of doing daily activities independently.

  • Stage 3

The sufferer starts to have difficulties in doing daily activities, but the intensity is low.

  • Stage 4

The sufferer starts to need assistance to do his/her daily activities.

  • Stage 5

The sufferer' s brain function drops resulting in the incapability of doing daily activities independently.